August Book Review

Background: Each December/January I set about 10 goals for myself to complete through the year.  One of my goals this past year was to read 50 books.  So at the beginning of each month I post what books I read the previous month with any comments I may have.  There you go – now I’ll get on with it – a little late this month.

January = 4

February = 1

March = 1

April = 7

May = 5

June = 5

July = 2

August = 5

Total = 30

elsewhere

Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

This is a re-read.  I recently recommended this book to a teenager and then thought maybe I should read it again.  I liked it the first time and I’m happy to report I liked it the second time.  I like how Zevin takes normal characters and just adds a twist – like, what if the afterlife works backwards, where you grow younger rather than older?  Or some of her other books where chocolate is illegal.

Les_miserables_book

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

I love the movie, and by movie I mean the one with Liam Nesson and nobody breaking into song.  It’s been on my “to-read” list for a while and I finally read it! I really enjoyed it, even more than the movie (which I kind of expected which is why I read it).

the 3

The Three by Sarah Lotz

First a vent: I was drawn in to the book but the frequent use of the F-bomb was a real turn off, I found myself unintentionally yelling at the book to “stop it”.  I don’t think swearing really enhances a story or characters.  I mean, every once in a while, fine, but there is such a thing as overkill and it was.  I can think of several ways I would have preferred this book to end.  I wanted to know the ending – which is why I hung in there despite my inclination to chuck the book.  So the ending itself was incredibly unsatisfying. I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads – but I wouldn’t ever actually recommend it to someone, I’d rather say, “you just want to know the ending?” Which would be difficult since it is heavily ambiguous.

51kgFWNNMlL

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

I read this one as a kid, but Chewy (my husband) and I were discussing it one night and neither of us could clearly remember the ending.  It was as good as I remembered it.

to_kill_a_mocking_bird

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I’d seen the movie as a kid and my mom always tried to give me a haircut like Scout’s – which I hated.  What I didn’t hate was this book.  It’s the first time I’ve read it and I really enjoyed it.  I have a thing for coming of age stories though.

2 thoughts on “August Book Review

    1. I had the help of the audio book. I don’t think I could have gotten through it that quickly with just the text. The audio made it possible to listen in the car and on runs. Pretty good book though, the various movies had elements of it but not the complete story (go figure) and I really enjoyed it the way it was written.

      Like

Leave a Reply

