It’s not you…well it kinda is. 

After almost two years of marriage Chewy (recently renamed Templeton – blogpost to come) and I have switched/merged insurance. But now I have the job of informing my current insurance agent that we are parting ways.  Many years ago I mused about breaking off friendships the way we break off relationships. Now I am musing about the same with insurance agents. I email my agent directly, we’ve been together for 16 years now, my first agent. She never forgets my birthday and she always answers emails quickly. My longest relationship has been with my insurance agent. But it’s time to move on. It came down to paying $160 a month with them or $105 with the other guy. 

I’ve started the email but I’m not sure how to finish it. 

Dear Agent,

I am writing to inform you that my husband and I have decided to go with his insurance. Please cancel my policies with XYZ effective November 1st.

That’s the easy part- but I also don’t want to be so cold. I mean business is business but 16 years of business deserves a little more, right? 

I want to thank you for the excellent customer service you’ve provided over the years

?? Because that then opens it to the awkward, “well if I’m so great why are you leaving?” You’d think I would have learned something in my heartbreaker years…oh that’s right, I didn’t have much experience with that either. 

But that got me thinking, what if people broke up relationships with an effective date? 

Dear John,

This letter is to inform you that our relationship will end effective November 1st of this year. I have accepted a position in a new relationship that better meets my financial and emotional needs. You’ve been great and I’ve enjoyed our time together. While our relationship will cease to exist romantically I do hope one day we can transition it to a platonic one. 

I will keep you in mind for future rekindling if either of our financial situations should change. 

…and I can’t figure out why I have so much trouble falling asleep at night. 

One thought on “It’s not you…well it kinda is. 

Leave a Reply

