Writing Contest and Putting Yourself Out There

I follow Writer’s Digest on twitter and saw that they’re having a contest.  700 words or fewer with the first line being “I’m going to disappoint you.  But you knew that already.”  I was going to let it pass but as I was in the shower (the best place for ideas) I started to think of where that line could lead.  I’m still not 100% sure but I’ve started something.  I have until April 11th and I think I’ll keep playing around with it.

There’s no monetary prize, just publication which is definitely something to me.  However, I think my main motivation is to put myself out there.  I don’t know why I have such trouble submitting things and trying.  I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t submitted anything in 4 years. I missed out on a chance last year to be part of a RVA based anthology, telling myself I was pregnant, working, tired, and had no time to write something in addition to the story I was working on.  It’s a regret I have and I want to stop making new regrets.

If you’re interested in the contest you can find the link on their Twitter account, the link worked from my phone but isn’t working from my computer so I won’t risk posting a link that won’t get you anywhere.  If you’ve never submitted anything before, you should try this with me.

Leave a Reply

