Flashback: You’re a Hotel Kind of Girl

So I want to try a new thing – well, new to me I’m sure tons of other people already do this.  I want to do a flashback post every Friday.  Now that I’m a mom, all that on again off again journal writing and scrap-booking just might come in handy as I tell my kid(s) all the things I was up to.  I apologize in advance, from Friday to Friday it won’t be chronological.  The first two weeks will be because I didn’t want to overload you with one story so I divided it into two.  After that – it will be just whatever I remember.  So here we go with the first post *Insert Wayne’s World Doodley Do Doodley Do flashback effect*
73nxlw
I moved away from home two weeks after high school graduation, not just out of the house or an hour away, I moved 2,000 miles away.  I didn’t really have a plan, I didn’t have a job, I wasn’t going to school; I just had a friend and an apartment waiting.  We drove my ’93 Hyundai Excel hatchback (the kids car, but since I was the last kid it came with me) across the country with my sister and her boyfriend in their Ford Escape.  Both cars were packed full.

I didn’t think I would cry, I was excited and nervous about the adventure, but I wasn’t really one to cry (no más).  But saying ‘goodbye’ to my mom was a lot harder than I thought it would be.  I held it together until I put the car in drive and then I bawled.  I think it had finally hit me, 3 seconds into the adventure, that it would be a long time before I saw her again…you know, longer than a week.

Our first stop was St Louis, Missouri.  At the end of a 12 hour day of driving we pulled in to the parking lot of our motel.  I don’t remember much, but I remember this, there were a lot of police cars in the parking lot.  That doesn’t instill a lot of confidence and warm fuzzies in an 18 year old who doesn’t have her dad.  But we checked in and headed up to our rooms.  My friend and I chatted for a bit and then turned off the lights and climbed into our beds.  Seconds later my friend jumped out of hers, saying it was wet.  We flipped on the light and her sheets had a huge yellow stain on them.  She had slipped comfortably into still wet urine.  We called the front desk.  What did they do? They came and changed the sheets, not even flipping the mattress…thanks Missouri, you’re a gem.

My take away from that first day attempting to adult – don’t ever settle for a motel…actually it was this, there IS a difference between hotels and motels, you’re a hotel kind of girl

 

 

Leave a Reply

