Money Pit

So it’s been a long time since I’ve written. Not much to really update on.  But here’s how the past two days have gone. 

Yesterday I went to the dealership to get an oil change and state inspection (I get them free at the dealership- that’s the only reason I go there). So I dropped it off at 8:30 for a 9:30 appointment and they told me it would be done by 1. My sister gave me a ride and I got there at 2 and it still wasn’t ready…the front desk person called the service person several times and she finally came to the front to say she was just about to call me (over an hour after she told me it would be ready?) and she mentioned some suggested work. I asked her how long it would take and she said, “twenty minutes” so I said I’d go ahead and just do it. I was there until 3:30, which trust me, is way more than twenty. At one point I went to get Stormy some goldfish and the vending machine refused to acknowledge the dollar I put in. I was really mad by that point. Today, we took Chewy’s car to a different place for the exact same stuff, dropped it off at 8:30 and it was done by 10…I think I’ll go there from now on. Free isn’t worth it. 

In other news – we’ve been having issues with our dryer. It smells terrible. We figured the tube was clogged but I can’t take the smell anymore. So today we were going to go to Carter Mountain but instead Chewy went to the store and bought a vent hose cleaning system. He decided to take a look under the house first (terrifying- I kissed him goodbye just in case). 


Turns out the hose was shot. And PLASTIC which it shouldn’t be. 

Chewy went back to the store to buy replacement gear. The new tubes are a little fragile and he ripped one – so Stormy and I went to the store to get a new one while he went under the house to put down a vapor barrier. While down there he came across a BOWL full of water and rotting food.  Have I mentioned I’ve lived in this house for 6 (almost 7) years? I certainly didn’t put the bowl under there meaning that BEFORE I bought this house someone knew there was a leak and put a freaking bowl there to catch the water and food bits.  Needless to say I’m a little angry about this. Angry at the person who lived here before, angry about how poorly this house was built and cared for, and angry that at the rate we are going we’ll never be able to move because we wouldn’t feel right trying to sell a house with so many problems (which means we are spending our down payment to fix the issues that keep cropping up here). 

Breathe. 

So that’s my two day update. 

For the next two days I’ll be at the James River Writers Conference – my update after that should be far less angry. 

Here’s something more fun that happened today. ​​

Leave a Reply

