Twix Cookies

Twix Cookies

The Cookie:
1 1/2 cups softened butter
1 cup sugar
3 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt

The Caramel:
1 Cup Butter
1 Cup Brown Sugar
2 tsp. Vanilla
1/2 tsp. Baking Soda

The Chocolate:
2 cups dark chocolate (or milk or white)
1 tsp butter

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Cream butter and sugar together. Add your vanilla, flour and salt. Mix well.
3. On a lightly floured surface, roll dough out to 1/2 inch thick (or however thick you want).
4. Use a round glass or donut/biscuit cutter.
5. Bake at 350 for 14-16 minutes.
6. Let cookies cool.
7. In a saucepan, melt 1 Cup Butter in a medium saucepan over medium heat.
8. Add 1 Cup of Brown Sugar and stir until thoroughly mixed
9. Stirring continuously, bring the butter and sugar to a boil on medium heat
10. When it begins to boil, allow it to cook for 4 minutes without stirring
11. At the 4 minutes mark, while still boiling, add 2 tsp. of Vanilla and stir to mix.
12. Continue to boil for 1 more minutes. Then add 1/2 tsp. baking soda.
13. Spoon onto cooled cookies. Allow to cool (I put them in the fridge because I’m impatient).
14. In a micorwave safe bowl, melt chocolate and butter for 1 minute. Stir. Then put back in for another 30 seconds to a minute (just make sure it doesn’t burn).
15. Spread melted chocolate over cooled caramel.

Notes:
1. You know what they say, third time’s the charm. Well it was true in this instance. The first two times I attempted these I’ve almost taken out someone’s tooth. Caramel is a temperamental little bugger. The first time, I bought caramel squares and heated them over the stove. It cooled like lava (in case you don’t know much about lava – that means it was hot and flowy and then it was rock). Next time I bought little caramel baking bits that are meant for the microwave. I followed those instructions to the letter and again, lava. Then I thought, well, I make caramel popcorn and no one takes a pricey visit to the dentist after–So–you can chance the caramel if you like, try to make life a little easier for yourself, and maybe you have what it takes. I do not, this was the easy route for me.

2. White chocolate is so good and the only way I got to taste these cookies. BUT as I learned with the homemade peanut butter cups, it’s harder to work with than lava caramel. So I spread it on, but it was never as pretty as the dark chocolate.

3. My mom said she would prefer the shortbread cookie to be thinner. Make the cookie however thick you like, but I think it’s safe to gauge that people will like their shortbread cookies like they like their men…just kidding, that’s not the real sentence. They like their shortbread cookies like they like their sugar cookies. If a person likes them thick like Tonya Hardy, they’ll like thick shortbread, if they like ’em thin and crispy like my mama does, then they’ll be the same way with shortbread. Know your audience people.

Published by lildonbro

A mother of three, a writer, and a Pinterest fail-er

Leave a comment